Upper Valley Adaptation Work Group

Building climate resilient communities in the Upper Valley through collaboration, research, information sharing, education, and action.

About UVAW

The Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup (UVAW) is a bi-state, multi-stakeholder working group of leaders and partner organizations. Started in December of 2011, the workgroup meets monthly focusing on building climate resilient communities in the Upper Valley Region of Vermont and New Hampshire.

Our Working Definition of Climate Resiliency

Climate Resiliency is the ability of a community to anticipate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from climate impacts in a way that minimizes significant disruption to our lives and impacts on our shared resources. This includes our health, safety, built environment, food availability, natural resources, wildlife, and financial strength.

Climate change is not some distant problem – it is happening here and now in the Upper Valley. In recent years, we have seen climate disruptions affect our communities in the form of droughts, deluges, ice and hail storms, intense cold snaps, and sudden heat waves. We must recognize these increasingly frequent extreme weather events for what they are: our new normal. 

Stay up to date for our upcoming forums & events and connect with adaptation resources and experts.

Resources from our Spring 2019 Forum

Let’s Talk About Climate Change!

Effective strategies for productive conversations

Presentation Slides on Communicating about Climate Change

Resources recommended by presenter Christa Daniels, Ph.D. AICP from the Center for Climate Preparedness and Community Resilience at Antioch University New England.

Photos from our October 2018 Forum

Droughts and Downpours

Managing for Extremes

Attendees learn about rainwater infiltration from the NHDES Soak Up the Rain program

Attendees tour stormwater management systems at Hypertherm.

Stacey Chiocchio of Hyperthem demonstrates how the porous pavement absorbs rainwater

Three groups visit the various stormwater management systems at Hypertherm

John Rooney of Hypertherm leads a tour of stormwater management systems

A full house enjoys the presentation portion of the forum!

All photos from the Droughts and Downpours event were taken by volunteer photographer, Rob Strong. Thanks, Rob!

Looking for more information about our past forums?

We have a complete archive of our past forums on the Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Region Planning Commission website. There you can access past presentations, watch video from the events, and check out handouts and resources from the forum.

Looking for more resources?

We have a number of helpful resources on the Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Region Planning Commission website. There you will find regional resources, as well as statewide resources for Vermont and New Hampshire communities.

UVAW Members

Sherry Godlewski
NH Department of Environmental Services, Co-Chair UVAW
sgodlewski@des.state.nh.us

Alice Ely
Public Health Council of the Upper Valley
alice.ely@uvpublichealth.org

Michael Simpson
Antioch University New England
msimpson@antioch.edu

Gregory Norman
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
gregory.a.norman@hitchcock.org

Alex Jaccaci
Hypertherm, Co-Chair UVAW
alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com

Kevin Geiger
Two Rivers Ottauquechee Regional Commission
kgeiger@trorc.org

Julia Griffin
Town of Hanover
julia.griffin@hanovernh.org

Lizann Peyton
Nonprofit Consultant
lizann.peyton@gmail.com

Sarah Brock
Vital Communities
sarah@vitalcommunities.org

Meghan Butts
Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Regional Planning Commission
mbutts@uvlsrpc.org

Mark Goodwin
City of Lebanon
mark.goodwin@lebcity.com

Rosi Kerr
Dartmouth College
rosalie.e.kerr@dartmouth.edu

Beth Sawin
Climate Interactive
esawin@climateinteractive.org

Lisa Wise
UNH Extension and NH Sea Grant
lisa.wise@unh.edu

Erich Osterberg
Dartmouth College
erich.c.osterberg@dartmouth.edu

Jenny Levy
Hypertherm
jenny.levy@hypertherm.com

Cameron Wake
University of NH, Carbon Solutions New England
cameron.wake@unh.edu

Need to Contact Us?

Sarah Brock, Interim Program Manager | sarah@vitalcommunities.org, 802-291-9100 x109

Alex Jaccaci & Sherry Godlewski, UVAW Co-Chairs | alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com and sherry.godlewski@des.nh.gov