Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup

Building climate-resilient communities in the Upper Valley
through collaboration, research, information sharing, education, and action.

Our Latest Events and Projects

Climate Partners Summit

On February 25, 2021, over 70 partners and citizens gathered virtually to consider how many organizations of all types are helping our region plan for and adapt to the effects of climate change.

Event Recording and Resources >

Climate Connections Lunch

Wednesday, March 24, Noon-1pm

FREE and open to the public

Bring your lunch and join us for casual, small group discussions on what we’re all doing to address climate change in the Upper Valley. Following an “Open Space” facilitation format, participants will propose topics at the start of the hour, then break out into groups to discuss and make connections. See you there!

Learn More and Register to Attend >

Climate Change
Leadership Academy

Program runs March 24 – June 16, 2021

2CLA is a six-session program aiming to educate, inspire, and prepare participants to take meaningful action on climate change mitigation and adaptation in their communities.

Learn More  >

Climate Change
Leadership Academy

March 24 – June 16, 2021

Application Deadline: February 21

Learn More >

About UVAW

The Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup (UVAW) is a bi-state, multi-stakeholder working group of leaders and partner organizations. Started in December 2011, the workgroup meets monthly to focus on building climate-resilient communities in the Upper Valley.

Our Working Definition of Climate Resiliency

Climate Resiliency is the ability of a community to anticipate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from climate impacts in a way that minimizes significant disruption to our lives and impacts on our shared resources. This includes our health, safety, built environment, food availability, natural resources, wildlife, and financial strength.

Climate change is not some distant problem – it is happening here and now in the Upper Valley. In recent years, we have seen climate disruptions affect our communities in the form of droughts, deluges, ice and hail storms, intense cold snaps, and sudden heat waves. We must recognize these increasingly frequent extreme weather events for what they are: our new normal. 

 

 

 

Stay up to date for our upcoming forums & events and connect with adaptation resources and experts.

Resources from our Spring 2019 Forum

Let’s Talk About Climate Change!

Effective strategies for productive conversations

Presentation Slides on Communicating about Climate Change

Resources recommended by presenter Christa Daniels, Ph.D. AICP from the Center for Climate Preparedness and Community Resilience at Antioch University New England.

Photos from our October 2018 Forum

Droughts and Downpours

Managing for Extremes

Attendees learn about rainwater infiltration from the NHDES Soak Up the Rain program

Attendees tour stormwater management systems at Hypertherm.

Stacey Chiocchio of Hyperthem demonstrates how the porous pavement absorbs rainwater

Three groups visit the various stormwater management systems at Hypertherm

John Rooney of Hypertherm leads a tour of stormwater management systems

A full house enjoys the presentation portion of the forum!

All photos from the Droughts and Downpours event were taken by volunteer photographer, Rob Strong. Thanks, Rob!

Looking for more information about our past forums?

We have a complete archive of our past forums on the Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Region Planning Commission website. There you can access past presentations, watch video from the events, and check out handouts and resources from the forum.

Looking for more resources?

We have a number of helpful resources on the Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Region Planning Commission website. There you will find regional resources, as well as statewide resources for Vermont and New Hampshire communities.

UVAW Members

Sherry Godlewski
NH Department of Environmental Services
sgodlewski@des.state.nh.us

Alice Ely
Public Health Council of the Upper Valley
alice.ely@uvpublichealth.org

Michael Simpson
Antioch University New England
msimpson@antioch.edu

Gregory Norman
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
gregory.a.norman@hitchcock.org

Alex Jaccaci
Hypertherm, UVAW Chair
alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com

Kevin Geiger
Two Rivers Ottauquechee Regional Commission
kgeiger@trorc.org

Julia Griffin
Town of Hanover
julia.griffin@hanovernh.org

Lizann Peyton
Nonprofit Consultant
lizann.peyton@gmail.com

Sarah Brock
Vital Communities
sarah@vitalcommunities.org

Meghan Butts
Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Regional Planning Commission
mbutts@uvlsrpc.org

Mark Goodwin
City of Lebanon
mark.goodwin@lebcity.com

Rosi Kerr
Dartmouth College
rosalie.e.kerr@dartmouth.edu

Beth Sawin
Climate Interactive
esawin@climateinteractive.org

Lisa Wise
UNH Extension and NH Sea Grant
lisa.wise@unh.edu

Erich Osterberg
Dartmouth College, UVAW Vice Chair
erich.c.osterberg@dartmouth.edu

Jenny Levy
Hypertherm
jenny.levy@hypertherm.com

Cameron Wake
University of NH, Carbon Solutions New England
cameron.wake@unh.edu

Need to Contact Us?

Alex Jaccaci, UVAW Chair | alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com

Erich Osterberg, UVAW Vice Chairerich.c.osterberg@dartmouth.edu

Sarah Brock, administrative support for UVAW | sarah@vitalcommunities.org, 802-291-9100 x109