Climate Change Resources

Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup and Vital Communities present:

Upper Valley Climate Change Leadership Academy

RESOURCES

Session Goals:

Our shared question for this session: What role can we play, as Climate Change Leaders, to reduce greenhouse gas emissions?

We have three goals for Session 2:

  1. Develop common language, framing, and context around the topic of “climate mitigation” in the Upper Valley. Where do our emissions come from and what will it take to reduce them?
  2. Compile a library of what works to reduce emissions, especially examples where Climate Change Leaders (like you!) can take action and make a difference.
  3. Discuss what we can do as Climate Change Leaders in the Upper Valley to make an impact with respect to greenhouse gas emissions. Together you will begin to capture ideas for possible Leadership Academy projects.
Session Materials:
Resources:

State Climate and Energy Goals/Plans

Vermont:

New Hampshire:

Carbon Calculators & At Home Tips

Carbon Offsets

Best Practices for Sustainable Development (International)

Carbon Sequestration

Food / Agriculture

Transportation

Adaptation Session

AGENDA:

  • Climate Change Adaptation Presentation Sherry Godlewski, Resilience and Adaptation Manager, NH Department of Environmental Services
  • Stakeholder Activity 1- (Notes)
    • Objective: From your stakeholder group’s perspective, discuss the climate impacts that we are/will be experiencing, and adaptation opportunities to become more resilient.
  • Climate Scenario Roleplay Activity 2-(Notes)
    • Objective: Gain an understanding of what’s important to other stakeholders, and how you might address a climate impact in your community.
  • Wrap Up
    • Evaluations
    • Community Projects
    • Next session preview

HOMEWORK Due January 3rd:

 

 

LINKS:

AGENDA

Welcome & Introductions 

Dartmouth Student Project Announcement

Project Idea Pitch 

  • Fill out project idea template
  • Anyone who has an idea will give a 1 minute pitch
  • If you don’t have a project idea in mind, listen to other ideas and see if there is interest in partnering with other 2CLA leaders on their project

Project Pitch Discussion/Convergence 

  • Participants self-select into groups around the room
  • Opportunity to find potential partners and form project teams, ask questions about project ideas

Project Charter: Specifics on action plan (2CLA Project Charter Template)          

  • Instruction on how to fill out charter
  • Workshop time
  • Takeways

Wrap up

  • Evaluations
  • Preview of next session: Leadership & Skills development
  • Post session HW: Complete project template, give feedback to another group

2019 Leadership Academy Meeting Dates

October 9, 2019
November 13, 2019
January 8, 2020
February 12, 2020
March 11, 2020
April 8, 2020

Participants are expected to attend all meetings, and must attend at least five meetings to graduate.

Questions?

Contact Ana Mejia
ana@vitalcommunities.org
802-291-9100 x114

What is the Climate Change Leadership Academy (2CLA)?

2CLA, a new project of the Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup (UVAW) and Vital Communities, will educate, inspire, and prepare 25 Upper Valley participants to take meaningful action on climate change mitigation and adaptation in their communities. Participants will:

  • Learn what is happening globally and locally and what can be done about it.
  • Participate in presentations, group discussions, and collaborative work sessions.
  • Design and launch a project as a climate leader to make a difference in their own community.
  • Graduate ready to inspire, motivate, and encourage others to take action.

Each participant will develop a project individually or as part of a small team. Each project will have support and input from the rest of the class. These projects may take any form and might involve art, public education, community work days, or any other activity that generates positive community impact related to climate change. Projects will be shared at a public celebration at the end of the program.

Special Thanks

The 2019 Climate Change Leadership Academy is made possible in part by support from the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences at Dartmouth.

About the Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup

The Upper Valley Adaptation Workgroup (UVAW) is a bi-state, multi-stakeholder working group of leaders and partner organizations. Started in December 2011, the workgroup meets monthly to focus on building climate resilient communities in the Upper Valley.

Our Working Definition of Climate Resiliency

Climate Resiliency is the ability of a community to anticipate, prepare for, respond to, and recover from climate impacts in a way that minimizes significant disruption to our lives and impacts on our shared resources. This includes our health, safety, built environment, food availability, natural resources, wildlife, and financial strength.

Climate change is not some distant problem – it is happening here and now in the Upper Valley. In recent years, we have seen climate disruptions affect our communities in the form of droughts, deluges, ice and hail storms, intense cold snaps, and sudden heat waves. We must recognize these increasingly frequent extreme weather events for what they are: our new normal. 

Stay up to date for our upcoming forums & events and connect with adaptation resources and experts.

UVAW Members

Sherry Godlewski
NH Department of Environmental Services, Co-Chair UVAW
sgodlewski@des.state.nh.us

Alice Ely
Public Health Council of the Upper Valley
alice.ely@uvpublichealth.org

Michael Simpson
Antioch University New England
msimpson@antioch.edu

Gregory Norman
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
gregory.a.norman@hitchcock.org

Alex Jaccaci
Hypertherm, Co-Chair UVAW
alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com

Kevin Geiger
Two Rivers Ottauquechee Regional Commission
kgeiger@trorc.org

Julia Griffin
Town of Hanover
julia.griffin@hanovernh.org

Lizann Peyton
Nonprofit Consultant
lizann.peyton@gmail.com

Ana Mejia
Vital Communities
ana@vitalcommunities.org

Sarah Brock
Vital Communities
sarah@vitalcommunities.org

Meghan Butts
Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Regional Planning Commission
mbutts@uvlsrpc.org

Mark Goodwin
City of Lebanon
mark.goodwin@lebcity.com

Rosi Kerr
Dartmouth College
rosalie.e.kerr@dartmouth.edu

Beth Sawin
Climate Interactive
esawin@climateinteractive.org

Lisa Wise
UNH Extension and NH Sea Grant
lisa.wise@unh.edu

Erich Osterberg
Dartmouth College
erich.c.osterberg@dartmouth.edu

Jenny Levy
Hypertherm
jenny.levy@hypertherm.com

Cameron Wake
University of NH, Carbon Solutions New England
cameron.wake@unh.edu

Need to Contact Us?

Ana Mejia, Climate Projects Coordinator at Vital Communities | ana@vitalcommunities.org, 802-291-9100 x114

Alex Jaccaci & Sherry Godlewski, UVAW Co-Chairs | alex.jaccaci@hypertherm.com and sherry.godlewski@des.nh.gov